Budapest Chronicles

February 13, 2016 § Leave a comment

hungarianparliament
It would be a shame if I didn’t chronicle my observances of this beautiful city that sits on the Danube. I’ve been living here for several years now, and this city has grown on me. It has also taken on a personal significance: these five years are the longest I’ve ever spent in one place. With the passage of time I’ve become sensitive to the nuances of the city and its inhabitants; what were once peculiarities of a foreign people I am now able to place within context.

With this series I hope to be able to to convey the charm, magnificence, history, faults, nature, and essence of Budapest, and that of the country at large, to my readers. But perhaps more selfishly it’s an attempt to cement memories and recollections for reminiscing in old age.

Note: This post should have proceeded The Mexican Suitcase and A Coloured Man in Budapest, but it slipped my mind!

Image: “Hungarian Parliament Building, Budapest, Hungary, 2015” by Andrew Shiva is licensed under CC-BY-SA-4.0

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Budapest Chronicles at A Doctor's Notebook.

meta

