Mrs. Dalloway

February 3, 2016 § Leave a comment

mrsdallowayThis Side of Paradise, Catcher in the Rye, and now Mrs. Dalloway. My list of unfinished books; books that I had to put down because I simply could not force myself to read any further. As you can see it’s not a long list, I tend to persevere until the end. But the above three truly challenged, and vanquished, my patience.

Woolf’s novel is hailed as a milestone in English Literature due to its unorthodox style: the novel is in essence one long narrative without chapters, albeit broken into segments in order to allow for change of scene or to pursue a particular character. That though is not its most defining feature. A ‘stream of consciousness’ is I believe the best way to describe Woolf’s writing: dipping in and out of character’s thoughts and embellished heavily with overblown metaphors. It really boils down to whether you can digest such a style. In the beginning I thought I could, but as I progressed I realized that it cluttered the narrative to such an extent that I couldn’t figure out what the plot was and what the characters were like! I’ve heard several people say that its a book to be read and re-read in order to truly grasp the brilliance of Woolf but this reviewer is willing to forego the agony and move on to other books on his TBR shelf.


Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
published by Grafton

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mrs. Dalloway at A Doctor's Notebook.

meta

